Hurrah!  It’s Friday! Welcome to my new feature “First Line Fridays.”  I’m thrilled to be joining some fantastic blogging friends who have been doing this for awhile.

Grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line!

Today I am featuring Within the Veil by Brandy Vance 

WTV

Edinburgh, Scotland
August 1885

The glowing orange veins on the coal faded. The strong wave of the fire, the heat in the crumbling fireplace, had all but died.

Now it’s your turn!

Grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line & then head over to see what First Lines these friends are sharing today:

 Fiction Aficionado // Reading is my SuperPower // Bibliophile Reviews //
Bookworm Mamma // Robin’s Nest // All the Book Blog Names are Taken //
Faithfully Bookish // Radiant Light // Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen //
With A Joyful Noise // Kathleen Denly // Singing Librarian //
A Baker’s Perspective // Lauraine’s Notes //

If you would like to host First Line Fridays on your blog, contact
Carrie at Reading is my SuperPower.
15 thoughts on “First Line Fridays (4/28/17): Within The Veil

  1. That’s one I’m yet to read, but I’ve heard lots of good things about it!

    Since I have so many wonderful first lines to choose from at the moment, I’m going to share a different one here than on my blog. It’s the first line from Varina Denman’s ‘Looking Glass Lies’:

    “I woke up in the middle of the night in our cavernous walk-in closet. Again.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The human mind is the battleground for the most deadly conflict ever fought on this planet.

    From book His Robe

    Like

  3. Welcome to First LIne Friday’s!

    Today I’m sharing the first line from Cynthia Roemer’s debut book that came out today.
    Under This Same Sky
    Illinois ~ May 8, 1854
    Nothing could have prepared her for this.
    Nothing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Welcome to First Line Fridays!
    Happy Friday (is it really?)!! My first line is from a nonfiction book that is being released on May 2nd, Women Who Move Mountains by Sue Detweiler: ” ‘Get my baby out!’ I screamed with a raspy voice.”

    And one of my favorite quotes: “Every day we have the opportunity to agree with God & allow His perspective to flood us with His hope. It’s like having a pressure washer in your mind.”

    Like

  5. “You get out there, and I mean now.”
    My Heart Belongs in the Superstition Mountains – Carmela’s Quandary by Susan Page Davis

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.