It’s here!  Friday, is here!  After that exuberant greeting, it should come as no surprise that I am happy for Friday.  It has been a busy week and I am quite glad that the weekend is almost here. If you are looking for a wonderful book to pick up to read this weekend, I would recommend a favorite of mine and today’s feature.

Today I’m featuring (Da-da Da!): The Thorn Healer by Pepper Basham

TTH

May 1918

Wounded soldiers returned from war as heroes. Wounded nurses returned as old maids.

Now it’s your turn!

Grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line & then head over to see what First Lines these friends are sharing today:

 Fiction Aficionado // Reading is my SuperPower // Bibliophile Reviews //
Bookworm Mamma // Robin’s Nest // All the Book Blog Names are Taken //
Faithfully Bookish // Radiant Light // Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen //
With A Joyful Noise // Kathleen Denly // Singing Librarian //
A Baker’s Perspective // Lauraine’s Notes //

Join me in welcoming a new blogging friend:
Jane Reads

If you would like to host First Line Fridays on your blog, contact
Carrie at Reading is my SuperPower.

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “First Line Friday’s (5/12/17) The Thorn Healer (Penned in Time #3)

  1. Love this book!

    I have the first line from Tamara Leigh’s ‘The Vexing’ on my blog today, but I’m going to leave you with the first line from ‘Still Falling’ by Crystal Walton, releasing on 17th May:

    “On his way to their squad car, NYPD Officer Josh D’Angelo fanned away a sense of dread rising with the steam coming through the subway grates.”

    Happy Friday 🙂

    Like

  2. My first line comes from The Magnolia Duchess by Beth White.

    AUGUST 13, 1814
    MOBILE POINT

    She could set fire to the letter in her pocket and it would still be true.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. On my blog today is the first line from Irene Hannon’s Sea Rose Lane so I am going to leave the first line from Between the Reins by Liz Isaacson that is releasing on May 16th. “The barn door banged open as Gil, one of the male counselors, burst through it, “Owen, there’s a fight we need your help with.”

    Like

  4. I can’t wait to post about the FLF’s next week on my blog. Love your FLF!!! That cover is gorgeous!

    Here’s my first line from the book I’m reading:
    “Mattie Fisher sat at the table in her large kitchen and fingered the tiny onesie her eldest daughter, Veronica, found in Mattie’s hope chest last year.” The Beloved Hope Chest by Amy Clipston

    I’m a blog follower! Hope you’ll follow me too, over at my blog!

    Like

Comments are closed.