It’s Friday!  Today I’m sending you warm greetings from the beautiful Charleston, SC.  I’ve been here for the past 5 days, soaking up the sun, visiting historical sites, and enjoying time with family. This week I enjoyed visiting many historical sites. I would recommend a visit to Charleston, SC for anyone who loves history.

Today, I am featuring: In His Eyes by: Stephenia H. McGee
(Click here to see my review)

IHE

1865
Washington County, Mississippi

Ella Whitaker braced herself for another of the woman’s screams.

Now it’s your turn!

Grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line & then head over to see what First Lines these friends are sharing today:

 Fiction Aficionado // Reading is my SuperPower // Bibliophile Reviews //
Bookworm Mamma // Robin’s Nest // All the Book Blog Names are Taken //
Faithfully Bookish // Radiant Light // Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen //
With A Joyful Noise // Kathleen Denly // Singing Librarian // Jane Reads //
A Baker’s Perspective // Lauraine’s Notes //

Please give a warm welcome to two new additions:
Moments Dipped In Ink & Molly’s Cafinated Reads

If you would like to host First Line Fridays on your blog, contact
Carrie at Reading is my SuperPower.
24 thoughts on “First Line Friday (5/19/17): In His Eyes

  1. Here’s my first line:
    Garvin Poole slipped out of bed, got his lighter off the fireplace mantel, and walked in his underwear through the dark house to the kitchen, where he took a joint out of a sugar jar, then continued to the garden door. ~Golden Prey by John Sandford

    Dinh @ Arlene’s Book Club

    Like

  2. I’m looking forward to reading this one soon!

    I have the first line from Erynn Newman’s debut release ‘Out of Darkness’ on my blog, but here I’m going to share the first line from Johnnie Alexander’s latest release, ‘What Hope Remembers’:

    “The June sun beat on Gabe Kendall’s bare head and tapped into his childhood memories of the horse farm.”

    Happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Friday! I have In His Eyes on my kindle and need to read it.
    My first line is: “My heart beat as if it was trying to build up speed and erupt from my chest.” From Warfare:Life After Book 2 by Julie Hall. Coming out June 13th.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My first line is from TURTLES IN THE ROAD, a humorous romance from mother/daughter duo Rhonda Rhea and Kaley Rhea. The book arrived yesterday, and I didn’t get to crack it open until 1:00 AM…but I just HAD to start it before bed! The first chapter is hilarious…and Piper is my new BF! — “Normally a nice long solo drive had a calming effect on Piper.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s a Regency weekend for me. Today I’ve started reading Carrie Turansky’s Edwardian Brides series.

    October 1911
    Berkshire, England

    Julia Foster lifted her gaze to the clear October sky as a lark swooped past.

    The Governess of Highland Hall

    HAPPY FRIDAY and HAPPY READING!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Intrigue! My family lives near Charlotte.

    So here’s mine:
    Jody Hedlund’s For Love & Honor: “You have one month to pay the debt,” Captain Foxe stated, his tone as rigid as the plate armor he wore.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is the book I have just started to read; Mrs. Odboddy: Undercover Courier. By Elaine Faber ” Lighting flashed and thunder rattled the windows of Wilkey’s Market where Agnes pushed a little metal cart through the crowded aisle.”
    But I do have another great mystery up today on the blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.