I have a special treat for you today! Susanne Dietze has stopped by for a visit and sharing some inside information on her latest book My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho.

7834895Susanne Dietze began writing love stories in high school, casting her friends in the starring roles. Today, she’s the award-winning author of over a dozen historical romances who’s seen her work on the ECPA and Publisher’s Weekly Bestseller Lists for Inspirational Fiction. Married to a pastor and the mom of two, Susanne lives in California and enjoys fancy-schmancy tea parties, genealogy, the beach, and curling up on the couch with a costume drama and a plate of nachos.

You can find Susanne hanging out at the following

Web Page // Facebook // Twitter // Goodreads // Pinterest // Amazon Page

 

For those of you who may not have yet read My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho (go and buy this book!), you can read the synopsis below and click here for my review.

MHBRIIs it possible to marry the wrong man? Rebecca Rice was looking forward to a quiet life and a full stomach by becoming mail-order bride to her shopkeeper intended, Mr. Fordham—until the justice of the peace calls him Thaddeus, not Theodore, proceeded by the title Deputy.

Rebecca would never marry a lawman like her father, so an annulment seems in order—and fast, since Rebecca’s true intended is impatient to claim her as his own. But when the legalities take longer than expected, Rebecca wonders if Tad Fordham wasn’t the right husband for her all along….

 

Now without further adieu; Please join me in giving a warm welcome to Susanne Dietze.

Hi Susanne, I’m so happy to be visiting with you today and talking about your latest book My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho.  Let’s get started with a few fun, getting-to-know-you questions and then we’ll dive right in about the book.

beverages-735008_640Q: What is your favorite beverage?

Susanne: Oh, this is a tough question! I can’t decide between fresh-squeezed orange juice, a mocha latte, or a Mighty Mango smoothie—things I do not get every day, for sure. I drink a cup of tea or coffee in the morning, but the rest of the day I stick with plain old water, herbal tea, and sometimes hot apple or cranberry juice.

Trisha: I love fruit smoothies! Like you I typically drink a cup of coffee in the morning and then water the rest of the day. But given the chance on a fruit smoothie, and I’m there!

 

Q: What would you say is your guilty pleasure?candy-crush-1869655_640

Susanne: I spend a lot of free time reading, but it’s not a guilty pleasure, lol! So I’d say two things: Candy Crush and TV. Candy Crush is nice to kill a few minutes, for sure. As for TV, I unwind watching Hallmark movies, costume dramas, romantic comedies, and some shows on network TV. Timeless is one of my favorites, and I was on an emotional roller coaster a few weeks ago when NBC cancelled it and then brought it back after two days because of fan outcry!

Trisha: I’ve not played Candy Crush, but I have spent time playing Bejeweled. I’m not sure how I missed Timeless. Guess I was too busy reading, or watching Dancing With The Stars.

Q: Is there a place you have wanted to visit but haven’t yet?

devon-1236090_640Susanne: I’d love to visit the UK someday, not just the major cities, but an extended period in traipsing through the countryside and staying at B&Bs, visiting churches and tea rooms, and enjoying the scenery. I’d also love to visit the Holy Land.

Trisha: Sounds lovely! I’m with you, I’d much prefer to visit the little towns and out-of-the-way places.

 

Q: What is your favorite Bible verse?book-1209805_640

Susanne: So hard to pick! I struggle with anxiety, and this is one of the verses I cling to when I am in a tough spot:

Joshua 1:9: Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.

Trisha: That is a wonderful, encouraging verse and a fantastic reminder that we are never alone!
Q: In your research of My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho was there anything that surprised you?

d5cf8926490c1a3938c8149be9164073

Susanne: Ruby City was a real place, and for a time it was the seat of Owyhee County. When the county seat moved to Silver City, residents of Ruby City dismantled their homes and businesses and moved them to Silver City on sleds, sledges, and wagons, putting them back together on new sites. The Idaho Hotel is one such business: it still stands in Silver City, and adventurous folks can sleep there in warmer months! There’s no electricity or indoor plumbing, by the way.

Trisha: I find it interesting that they would dismantle and move the entire town. (photo credit: Idahostatesman.com)

 

Q: What was your inspiration for Rebecca marrying the wrong groom?

a6d79bf596339263f0f12bc0d5684f39Susanne: A few years ago, I sat at my dining room table and compiled ideas for half a dozen mail-order bride stories, because I’d always wanted to write one. I finished jotting down my thoughts and got up, but then a picture appeared in my head of mail-order bride marrying her never-laid-eyes-on groom in a spartan-looking office. They were googly-eyed and happy, but they didn’t know they were marrying the wrong people until after they were pronounced husband and wife.

How could such a thing happen? I mean, don’t people actually have to say the name of the person they’re marrying when they exchange vows? (Of course!) It was a crazy idea, but I had fun figuring out a way for it to occur.

Trisha: I really enjoyed your spin on the Mail-Order Bride story. It can’t be easy to take a common theme and make is fresh and new, but you did it so well! (photo from pinterest)
Q: What did you find most difficult to write when writing this story?

0e8d9813171a8b27d5a873e5fce4e6f5

Susanne: The book is not a love triangle, but there are two men in this book: Rebecca’s fiancé, Theodore, and her “husband” Tad, the man she accidentally marries. I think it’s clear who she’ll end up with, but I won’t spoil it here. Anyway, the biggest challenge was writing Mr. Wrong. I wanted him to be clearly not right for Rebecca, without making him completely unlikable or hopeless, and at the same time, I didn’t want to make him so wonderful the reader was torn about who she should choose. Mr. Wrong is someone Rebecca cares about, so I wanted to care about him and hopefully allow the reader to care for him a little bit, too, even if he isn’t Mr. Right.

Trisha: Rebecca chose the “Mr. Right” I was cheering for! I was glad that “Mr. Wrong” wasn’t painted as the bad guy. He seemed like a nice fellow, just not right for Rebecca. (photo credit RebelsMarket) BONUS BRAGGING POINTS for anyone who can share the significance of the ring pictured. 

 

Q: The characters celebrate Independence Day in the book. What do you do on the 4th of July?

fourth-of-july-820529_640Susanne: Independence Day is usually fairly simple: we gather with friends and family to BBQ or have pulled pork sandwiches, potato salad, fruit and ice cream sandwiches! It’s hot where I live, so a swimming pool is usually involved. Then, we watch fireworks and take a moment to be grateful for our country and all who serve.

I was happy to write Independence Day into Ruby City, but I have another 4th of July inspired read, too: my novella The Right Pitch in July’s Of Rags and Riches Romance Collection. It’s about a ladies’ baseball team in 1876 Philadelphia, playing an exhibition game during the Centennial Celebration!

 

Q: What are you working on next?

57eac648110d0e1b8edda7d83119dd72Susanne: Right now I’m writing a novella called First Things First, from next year’s First Loves Forever Collection from Barbour. The heroine, Georgia Bridge, is someone I’ve written about before: she was four years old in For a Song from The Cowboy’s Bride Collection. I love Georgia and am so excited to write her story! After that, I’ll be working on edits for my January LIH, A Mother for His Children, a Regency-set marriage of convenience story.

Trisha: Both sound fantastic, I look forward to reading both of those! (photo credit: pinterest bluehourstudio)

 

Thank you for visiting with us today and sharing about your fabulous book! I hope that everyone gets to read it. I hear that Walmart is also carrying the book (check your local Walmart!).

Susanne: Thank you for hosting me today!

GIVEAWAY Time:

Susanne is giving away one copy of My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho. The winner may choose either a paper copy or a digital copy of the book. (If the winner is international, only a digital copy is available).

To be entered in the drawing:
1.) Comment below by either sharing a favorite memory you have of celebrating Independence day or tell us how you celebrate Independence day.

2.) Enter the Raffelcopter form for easy tracking of your entries.

*Note: you can earn 2 entry points per day during the giveaway period by tweeting about the giveaway using the raffelcopter link.

Giveaway ends June 5, 2017.  The winner will be announced on this page on June 5, 2017.

*****   The Giveaway has ended  ****

The Winner is: Melissa C

37 thoughts on “Author Interview & Giveaway with Susanne Dietze – My Heart Belongs in Ruby City, Idaho

  1. It’s been a really long time since I’ve done anything special for the Fourth of July. My dad has PTSD so we don’t do fireworks. I do remember going to the beach, having a barbecue, and watching fireworks as a little kid though.

    Great interview by the way!

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Becky! Oh, I’m so sorry about your dad’s PTSD–what a struggle. Hugs!

      I love the idea of a BBQ on the beach. That sounds like a delightful day, start to finish!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. This book sounds so good. 🙂
    Hmm…favourite 4th of July memory…Perhaps one when I was about 5 or so, my parents took my sister and I to watch fireworks over a lake and we got special ice-cream. For a five year old, that was pretty exciting! 😉
    Thanks for this grand interview and giveaway!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Raechel! Ice cream and fireworks over a lake sounds like a fantastic time, no matter one’s age! I agree with Trisha–I think there’s something magical about the reflection of fireworks on water that makes it even more beautiful.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely interview! Thank you for sharing it! We generally celebrate the 4th with a cookout and fireworks. I make a fruit cookie flag for dessert and my guys grill out the hotdogs and campfire potatoes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fruit cookie flag??? I must know how to make this! I made a jello & fruit flag once years ago–I don’t know what happened to the mold. We’ve moved a few times since then! I love having a patriotic looking dish on the table. Strawberries and blueberries are a must!

      And campfire potatoes…I love potatoes. Sign me up.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s just a roll of cookie dough baked on a cookie sheet then a vanilla or vanilla & cream cheese pudding mixture spread on that, then you alternate sliced strawberries and sliced bananas to make the red and white stripes of the flag then blueberries and bananas (chunked) to make the blue with stars in the corner. Viola! Fruit cookie flag!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Susie!! It was sooo much fun chatting and getting to know you better! Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule! I have to keep reminding myself that it’s Tuesday already! This week is going to be a fast one. Have a blessed week!

      Like

      1. This week is going to fly by. It’s the last week of school here, and we all know what that means: craziness! LOL. And finals. Craziness and finals. Hard to believe it’s just about summer already. This school year has zipped by.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. What a fun way to spend the holiday, Paula!

      We used to live in a neighborhood centered around a park, and every 4th the neighbors gathered for a potluck. There was a bounce house, cake walk, and the kids had a patriotic parade after decorating their bikes, trikes, etc. It was so much fun.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A bike parade sounds fun! We spent the day at the pool, enjoying time with family, eating watermelon, and burgers. When I was little we never went to see fireworks because my parents didn’t want to get in the crowd. Later when my family moved to a house my Dad built on top of a mountain, we could watch ALL the fireworks at once. It’s really neat to see them from high up and see different towns shooting off fireworks at the same time.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Being a Navy brat and wife my favorite 4th of July memory is when we lived in Hawaii and we would go to the beach by our house and we could see all the fireworks from all the bases as well as Pearl Harbor.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I imagine watching fireworks over Pearl Harbor would be quite a moving experience! Wow!

      I’ve never been to Hawaii. I’d love to go sometime!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. The book looks really good! We celebrate the forth at my aunts lake house with family. Playing in the water, yummy food and watching the fire works.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. As a kid, my family drove four hours north to my mom’s parents’ house. And on the 4th of July, we went out to see the 4th of July parade at the seats that my grandfather had staked his claim to earlier in the week. I always found it so amusing to see chairs tied across sidewalks and lining the streets the days leading up to the holiday. As I got older, the parade became boring for me, but now that my grandparents are gone, the memories glisten in my mind’s eye. And I wish I could go back just to have a hug from my grandmother and to watch my grandfather march proud in his army uniform.

    Like

    1. Barbara, what a wonderful memory–and what a blessing that you were able to have such special times with your grandparents.

      I can’t imagine a street with chairs tied across the sidewalk! That sounds amazing! Nowadays I’d be afraid people would steal the chairs or untie them and push them out of the way! Times have sure changed, at least in some communities.

      Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. we have a large picnic every year a few families all come and it is werid but we all have girls so there are 6-8 young girls all running around, my favotite memory is looking a pictures of these same girls over the yers all lined up and jumping in the air off the same log, we started when they were age 6-2 the girls are now 17- 13.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Our family tradition for celebrating July 4th has always been grilling followed by going to fireworks. I haven’t been to fireworks in the last few years due to having very small children who find the noise frightening! But when they get older, we will all go together. I love to hear and sing the national anthems also.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

