Yay, it’s Friday! Don’t forget to check out the giveaway running this week. Do you have a book to read this weekend? Back in 2013 I was searching for a new book to read and found Lori Benton’s Burning Sky. I fell in love with the book and with Lori’s writing.  I’ve not missing reading a book she’s written since.

Today, I am excited to share with you her lastest published book A Flight of Arrows (The Pathfinders #2).  If you have not yet read any of Lori’s books, I encourage you to start this weekend!  You can connect with Lori and read the first chapter at her web page.

AFOA

October 11, 1776
Aubrey farm, near Schenectady

Wrapped in a shawl and drawn by the heartstrings, Anna Doyle let herself out of the white stone farmhouse before anyone else had awakened and strode briskly down a cart track past the harvested cornfields, headed for the strip of mist-draped woodland marking the creek near the farm’s western boundary.

Now it’s your turn!

Grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line & then head over to see what First Lines these friends are sharing today:

 Fiction Aficionado // Reading is my SuperPower // Bibliophile Reviews //
Bookworm Mamma // Robin’s Nest // All the Book Blog Names are Taken //
Faithfully Bookish // Radiant Light // Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen //
With A Joyful Noise // Kathleen Denly // Singing Librarian // Jane Reads //
A Baker’s Perspective // Lauraine’s Notes // Moments Dipped In Ink //
Molly’s Cafinated Reads

If you would like to host First Line Fridays on your blog, contact
Carrie at Reading is my SuperPower.
9 thoughts on “First Line Friday (6/2/17): A Flight of Arrows (The Pathfinders #2)

  1. One day I’d like to read these! The covers draw me in!!

    Right now I’m actively reading “Threads of Suspense” by Dee Henderson and “Memoirs of William T. Sherman” for research. I have a few other books “on hold” while I try to focus on these two. 😉

    On my blog is a fictional first line. Here is one from Sherman:
    “Nearly ten years have passed since the close of the civil war in America, and yet no satisfactory history thereof is accessible to the public; nor should any be attempted until the Government has published, and placed within the reach of students, the abundant materials that are buried in the War Department at Washington.” (Memoirs of William T. Sherman)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My first line is:
    “A private plane sits on a runway in Martha’s Vineyard, forward stairs deployed.” ~ Before the Fall by Noah Hawley.
    I can’t wait to start this book. I’ve heard it’s good.
    Dinh@Arlene’s Book Club

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read anything by Lori Benton, but they look interesting! Happy Friday! My first line is from Finding Love on the Oregon Coast by Angela Ruth Strong, a collection of 4 novella by different authors which will be released July 1st: “Christina gazed out the window at the balcony decorated for her wedding ceremony above the sparkling Columbia River in Portland, Oregon, before turning to face the full-length mirror.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. On the blog today I am sharing the first line from Melody Carlson’s ‘Under a Summer Sky’ so I thought I would share the first line from the book I am currently reading:

    “The man relaxed in the wooden Adirondack chair in the screened-in porch of his cabin rental and stared out across the glistening waters of Lake Williwaw.” Stormy Lake by L.D. Stauth

    Like

  5. Ok. DON’T PANIC. Don’t panic. It’s only a VISA bill. – Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

    I love first line Fridays. Although I often forget to participate, I so enjoy seeing the first line of the book nearest me, and of course, the lines others come upon!

    Like

  6. I’m guessing this book is set in the west/prairie….I told Jessica that I love books set during the 1800’s, but I also love pioneer era settings. Reminds me of Love Comes Softly by Janette Oke or even the TV show Little House on the Prairie. I remember reading the American Girls Collections when I was younger….Samantha and Kirsten’s books were always my favorite. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.