I’m excited to have with us today Melissa Jagears, Welcome Melissa!jagearsheadshotcompressed-199x300

Carol Award winning writer, Melissa Jagears, is a homeschooling mom who writes Christian Historical Romance into the wee hours of the night. She’s the author of the Unexpected Brides Series with Bethany House. The prequel ebook novella, Love by the Letter, is her ACFW Carol Award winning novella and free to try. You can learn more about her, her books, and where she hangs out online at

Web Page // Facebook // Goodreads // Pinterest

Melissa is here today to talk with us about her most recent book release A Love So True the 2nd book in the Teaville Moral Society. (see my review) 

ALST

Evelyn Wisely has a heart for the orphans of Teaville and works at a local mansion that rescues children out of the town’s red-light district and gives them a place to live. But her desire to help isn’t limited to orphans. The owner of the mansion, Nicholas Lowe, is willing to help her try to get the women working in prostitution out of the district as well–if she can gain the cooperation and support of local businessmen to go against the rest of the community.

David Kingsman has recently arrived in Teaville from Kansas City to help with one of his father’s companies in town. While he plans on staying only long enough to prove his business merit to his father, he’s shown interest in Evelyn’s work and is intrigued enough by her to lend his support to her cause.

They begin with the best of intentions, but soon the complications pile up and Evelyn and David’s dreams look more unattainable every day. When the revelation of a long-held secret creates a seemingly insurmountable rift between them, can they trust God still has a good plan for them despite all that is stacked against them?

Now that everyone has had a moment to re-familiarize themselves with this fantastic story, let’s start our chat with Melissa.

milk-1887234_640

Q: What is your favorite beverage? 

Melissa: Milk. We buy four gallons at a time. I’m pretty sure I’m responsible for drinking three of them. The rest of my family drinks the leftover one.
Trisha: 4 Gallons, Wow! That is an impressive amount of Milk!

 

intjdarcy

Q: What Literary character is most like you and why?

Melissa: Mr. Darcy. Most all literary characters who are like me are males and almost always the villain role. Probably because broody, socially awkward, quiet, jerk types who aren’t really jerks but are usually working covertly behind the scenes in a hands-off, logical way to make the lives of the people they love better are harder to imagine in the female form. Considering my personality is the rarest female personality, I’m just guessing many people don’t know one and think female Mr. Darcys (INTJs) aren’t realistic….or even likeable, though I won’t argue that….. But thankfully Jane Austen, who was likely an INTJ as well, provided the world with an INTJ character who isn’t a villain. 🙂

Trisha: I wouldn’t have guessed Mr. Darcy!

 

isla-diablo-1994800_640

Q: Is there a place you have wanted to visit, but haven’t yet?

Melissa: The Caribbean or any tropical island. Preferably a deserted island, no tourists, warm weather, sand, ocean, no schedule, and books.

Trisha: Sounds like the ideal get-a-way spot!
book-1209805_640Q: What is your favorite Bible verse?

Melissa: I don’t have one. “Never Read a Bible Verse” (see link) — it’s all about context. I have favorite sections. The book of Romans is great. I Tim 4:6-16 maybe….

Trisha: I agree. You want to read the entire passage to gain the full meaning. My favorite passage is Psalm 91

 

133233232.xp05SzWaQ: How did you become involved with the subject or theme of your book?

Melissa: In A Heart Most Certain, the prior book, I had to come up with a reason for my bachelor hero to build a mansion he didn’t need in the middle of nowhere. (Because I wanted to write a story with the Coffeyville Brown Mansion as a set piece.) And I needed to know what his motivations were for the Scrooge/Aladdin spinoff I wanted to combine with it. So creating Nicholas is responsible for the subject/themes of the series.

Trisha: That is a beautiful house and a great starting point for inspiration. (photo credit: pbase.com)

 

heart-1908901_640Q: What do you most want readers to take away from your book?

Melissa: Don’t be quick to judge people by how they act or what you see. Take your time forming opinions about those you meet, only do so if you have enough first hand insight.

Trisha: I feel it is important to be kind to everyone you meet.
Q: What 5 books have had the greatest impact on your life?

Melissa: The Bible, Decision Making and the Will of God by Gary Friesen, The Well-Behaved Child by John Rosemond, Love and Respect by Eggerichs, Whatever Tomorrow Brings by Lori Wick (It’s the first book I read in my now favorite genre).

Trisha: Those are all excellent books. You are in good company, I have a collection of Lori Wick books on my shelf also!

 

Q: Do you have any unusual writing habits?

Melissa: If I can’t figure out what to write next, I take a shower. Best place to get unstuck. My brain is on auto-pilot just enough to keep all the millions of directions of my brain subdued so I can focus on the problem.

Trisha: That is an unusual place, but I can see the benefits. As a mother, often times the only time you have to yourself is when your in the shower.

Thank you Melissa for stopping in today to share with us about yourself and about your wonderful books!

 Melissa is generously giving away a soft-cover printed copy of A Love So True, along with a note pad to one (1) lucky winner.  (open to continental USA residents only). The giveaway will be open for one week. The winner will be announced here on this page at the close of the contest.

To Enter the giveaway:

1.) Comment below sharing your favorite place to vacation and who you’d take with you.

2.) CLICK HERE to enter the Rafflecopter form (this helps with tracking entrants).

Note: You may receive one entry per day by tweeting about the giveaway via the rafflecopter.

********   GIVEAWAY HAS ENDED   ********

Congratulations:   Jackie W.

 

51 thoughts on “Author Interview & Giveaway – Melissa Jagears

  1. I like knowing that builds a story plot and it looks like this time it was that great house. Thanks, ladies. A very interesting interview!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Merry, FL is a fun vacation destination! Do you visit the beach? We have been to the gulf cost of FL (Venice beach & Port Charlotte ) a few times. It’s a lovely place!

      Like

  2. I have been to France and Germany for summer vacation and that was one of the best vacations of my life! Since getting married and having kids, even a trip out of town is an adventure! I guess you learn to adapt and find excitement in what’s available to enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would love to vacation in Germany, specifically the Bavarian region where I lived when my husband was deployed there with the Army about 31 yrs. ago. I’ve dreamed of going back. My family lineage has roots in that area, as well as my husband’s. I would take my husband and son.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Enjoyed the interview and am looking forward to this next book in the series, as I always enjoy Melissa’s books! Vacation question – my husband and I love the National Parks, so I would like spending a couple of weeks at Glacier or Yellowstone. Something rather quiet and laid-back style.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My favorite place to vacation is Santa Fe, New Mexico. I would take my sister with me. We both love all that is the Southwest.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’d love to vacation in Colorado Springs, CO and visit my friends that live there. Wonderful interview with Melissa. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’d really like to travel to a tropical island, preferably with my husband. We’ve never done more than a night or two away from our daughter, so we’re long overdue for a couple’s vacation! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.