Here we are at the end of another week. Is it just me, or has this week seemed to have zoomed by? There have been soooo many wonderful books released just this week! If your #TBR stacks are anything like mine they are getting wobbly. While you are here, don’t forget to enter the giveaway running this week!

This week I received an email announcing a special edition of A Bride Most Begrudging has been printed and has released this week – but for a limited time only! It’s now 12 years later and making a re-appearance. A Bride Most Begrudging has been released in Walmart, Meijers and other big-box stores. This time however, it is in a size never before seen. Instead of the over-sized “trade” paperback, it’s in that smaller size you’ve seen in drugstores, airports, groceries, etc. (called “mass-market”) and it is a LIMITED EDITION – once they run out, that’s it! Scoop up a copy before they are gone!

 

ABMB

Virginia Colony
1643

The gown they gave her fit too closely. It displayed her figure with humiliating clarity, but perhaps that would work to her advantage. She had lost so much weight, she couldn’t imagine any farmer wanting to invest in such a sickly looking woman.

 

Now it’s your turn!

Grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line & then head over to see what First Lines these friends are sharing today:

 Fiction Aficionado // Reading is my SuperPower // Bibliophile Reviews //
Bookworm Mamma // Robin’s Nest // All the Book Blog Names are Taken //
Faithfully Bookish // Radiant Light // Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen //
With A Joyful Noise // Kathleen Denly // Singing Librarian // Jane Reads //
 Moments Dipped In Ink // A Baker’s Perspective // Lauraine’s Notes //
Moments Dipped In Ink // Molly’s Cafinated Reads

If you would like to host First Line Fridays on your blog, contact

Carrie at Reading is my SuperPower.
19 thoughts on “First Line Fridays (6/9/17) A Bride Most Begrudging

  1. “They’re back!” Fidelia Hayward burst into the Summerfield Mercantile, one hand to her heaving chest, the other steadying her bonnet, which tipped precariously over her left ear. From Love of the Summerfields by Nancy Moser

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Turtle Springs, Kansas
    April 1866

    Pa had some kind of nerve, up and dying like that-just when I’d gotten used to Frank being gone. Adjusting her somber bonnet, Caroline Kane exited what was now her inn, onto the boardwalk and then stepped down to the hard-packed dirt street.

    First line from Dime Novel Suitor by Carrie Fancett Pagels. This is my “debut” as a character in the story.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Friday! My first line is from Widow by Denise Weimer: “Oglethorpe County, Georgia, June 1857, An angel of light stood before me, blonde, beautiful, one hand behind his back.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That was one of my first Kindle purchases a long time ago.
    From a new release, my first line is:
    The promised view of the mountain peak waited, cloaked in mist like a tissue-wrapped gift not ready to be unveiled.
    “The Road to Paradise” by Karen Barnett

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Lost Boy by Thomas Wolfe : Light came and went and came again, the blooming strokes of three o’clock beat out across the town in thronging bronze, light winds of April blew the fountain out in rainbow sheets, until the plume returned and pulsed, as Grover turned into the Square.
    I headcount this because I watched a movie about the life of Thomas Wolfe called Genius!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the first lines. The cover looks great too.:)

    My first line is :
    “The first inkling that something was wrong was the waking in the darkness to find the cat pawing at my face.” ~ The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware.
    I’ve heard great things about this book. I am really looking to reading this mystery/thriller.
    Dinh @ Arlene’s Book Club

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I received the notice that this book was re-releasing this week too. Wow! I remember reading it when it first came out. I wish I had time to re-read it! Happy Weekend!

    Like

  8. Wow….that’s so interesting. I wonder why it’s limited edition? I didn’t even know that you couldn’t buy it anymore. Every now and then I see it at a used bookstore. I actually have this book, but I haven’t had the chance to read it yet. In fact, I think I have every book in this series. 😊

    Like

    1. It’s a special edition (size) that’s for a limited time. They only printed so many books in this special edition size and aren’t printing more in this special edition size.
      I’ve not yet seen the special edition in a store, but you can purchase the special edition on Amazon. It’s a great book! I read it back when it first came out. The original graces my book shelf.

      Like

Comments are closed.