Synopsis:

Beautiful and winsome, Betsy Zook never questioned her family’s rigid expectations, nor those of devoted Hans, but then she never had to. Not until the night when she’s taken captive in a surprise Indian raid.

During her captivity, Betsy faces brutality and hardship, but also unexpected kindness. She draws strength from native Caleb, who encourages her to find God in all circumstances. She finds herself torn between her pious upbringing and the intense new feelings this compelling man awakens within her.

Handsome and complex, Hans is greatly anguished by Betsy’s captivity and turns to Tessa Bauer for comfort. Eagerly, Tessa responds, overlooking troubling signs of Hans’s hunger for revenge. When Betsy is finally restored to the Amish, have things gone too far between Hans and Tessa?

Inspired by true events, this deeply layered novel gives a glimpse into the tumultuous days of pre-revolutionary Pennsylvania through the eyes of two young, determined, and faith-filled women.

My Review:

Suzanne did an excellent job writing the characters in this story and making them realistic and believable. The hardships of life, and how the characters choose to deal with the results of their choices showcased their growth.

I struggled a bit at the beginning to get immersed in this story. Maybe because I hadn’t previously read the other two books in this series. Personally, I would have enjoyed reading more from Betsy’s perspective, as her story of captivity by the Native Americans is the part of this story that grabbed my attention and enticed me to pick-up the book.

I appreciated the historical research that was the framework for the story. I hadn’t previously known the history of the Conestoga wagon. Wanting to know more, sent me on my own little research (see bonus section below).

Both fans of Amish fiction and those who haven’t read the genre before will enjoy this terrific book. I’ve not read an extensive amount of Amish fiction, but I can say that as a whole I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to reading the other books in this series.

(I received a complimentary digital copy of this book from Netgalley. I am not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own)

Favorite Quote:

“The same sun that hardens the clay melts the snow”

Bonus:

DSC_0817I found the description in the story of the Conestoga wagon fascinating and I wanted to know more. I found some interesting facts and a few photos. I thought that you may also enjoy learning more.(photo credit: By Kevin Burkett from Philadelphia, Pa., USA – FlickrUploaded by SunOfErat, CC BY-SA 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=30602578)

About the Author:

SWFSuzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling, award winning author of fiction and non-fiction books about the Old Order Amish for Revell Books, host of the radio-show-turned-blog Amish Wisdom, a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazine.

Her interest in the Amish began with her grandfather, who was raised Plain. A theme in her books (her life!) is that you don’t have to “go Amish” to incorporate the principles of simple living.

Suzanne lives in California with her family and raises puppies for Guide Dogs for the Blind. To her way of thinking, you just can’t life too seriously when a puppy is tearing through your house with someone’s underwear in its mouth.

Suzanne can be found on-line at:
Web Page // Facebook // Twitter // Goodreads // Pinterest

Available now for pre-order (release date: 8/1/2017)

   The Return (Amish Beginnings #3)

Amish Beginnings Series:

 Anna’s Crossing (Amish Beginnings #1)

 The Newcomer (Amish Beginnings #2) 

3 thoughts on “The Return (Amish Beginnings #3) by: Suzanne Woods Fisher

Comments are closed.