Laura Frantz has a new book coming out and I have been checking daily to find the cover of her newest book The Lacemaker.  The expected publication is January 2, 2018

Laura has shared with me that the gown on the cover is a real historic gown, from a museum collection!

Upon a little research of my own, I discovered that the dress was featured as part of a collection at the Indianapolis Museum of Art, in the “Fashion in Bloom” collection.

fashion-in-bloom-pano250

century-fashion-fashion-vintage

French or English dress, c. 1760, silk damask with silk supplementary weft. Emma Harter Sweester Fund. 81.290ab (photo credit: Indianapolis Museum of Art)

Dress-bodice

The fabric of this gown was patterned in the Rococo style which was prevalent between the 1740s–1770s. Characterized by a retreat from naturalism, these fabrics with their rich colors and meanderings of flowering vines and patterned areas reminiscent of lace or white work were a favorite of predominately upper class women.

This ensemble consists of a floor-length dress that opens in the front to reveal a stomacher at the top and a petticoat below. Wide side hoops were worn under the skirt to create additional width. Gowns made in this style known as sack, where box pleated fabric flows from the nape of the neck to the floor, were fashionable for formal occasions.

Front-of-dress

Those interested can find more photos and information about the dress at: http:collection.imamuseum.org/artwork/78198

“The Lacemaker” (Synopsis):

When colonial Williamsburg explodes like a powder keg on the eve of the American Revolution, Lady Elisabeth “Liberty” Lawson is abandoned by her fiance and suspected of being a spy for the hated British. No one comes to her aid save the Patriot Noble Rynallt, a man with formidable enemies of his own. Liberty is left with a terrible choice. Will the Virginia belle turned lacemaker side with the radical revolutionaries, or stay true to her English roots? And at what cost?

Historical romance favorite Laura Frantz is back with a suspenseful story of love, betrayal, and new beginnings. With her meticulous eye for detail and her knack for creating living, breathing characters, Frantz continues to enchant historical fiction readers who long to feel they are a part of the story.

 

The Reveal:

Ta-Da!

TheLacemaker.cover

Isn’t it lovely?  The detail on the lace and in the fabric of the dress is stunning!
I can’t wait to see the cover in person and hold the book in my hand.

 

About the Author:

laura-frantz-2016I was born and raised in Kentucky, living first in Ashland, Mammoth Cave, Bowling Green, and then Lexington. But my heart has always been in Berea, Madison County, the place my family has resided since the 18th-century. I came to know Christ there at the age of 12, was baptized, and spent my childhood roaming through the woods and swimming in the rivers of my books.

My earliest memories are of the public library, standing in front of shelves filled with those little biographies of famous historical figures like Daniel Boone and George Washington and Sacajawea. I began scribbling stories at age 7 and thankfully never stopped. My passion then and now is history and all the wonders of past centuries.

I attended college at Denison University in Ohio and also in England, living in a manor/castle and studying the American Revolution from the British perspective. Shakespeare and 18th-century literature form the backbone of my English degree. Strangely enough, I only took one creative writing class.

It was never a desire of mine to be published. I simply love to write for the sheer joy of writing – and that was enough. But as Proverbs 16:9 says, “The heart of a man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.”

You can visit Laura Frantz online at: www.laurafrantz.net

TheLacemaker.cover The Lacemaker is available for pre-order from amazon
(but they don’t have the cover yet)

 

I’d love to hear from you:

What new book(s) are you anxiously anticipating?

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Cover Reveal – “The Lacemaker” by Laura Frantz

  1. Oh my word❣️ You do this exquisite dress justice with your beautiful post, Trisha. Love the pic of all the gowns in the museum collection ~ how I wish I’d been there! This post makes me feel I have. You’re the best dress detective! Love all these details. Can’t wait for you to meet our Welsh hero & step through the doors of his magnificent estate on the James River in Virginia. And then there’s our heroine from Colonial Williamsburg, too. The Lacemaker was a joy to write & I pray a JOY to read! Thanks for the gift of your time & heart here. 💛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am honored to be able to reveal the cover your new book! I enjoyed searching for additional photos and learning a little bit about the history of the dress. I am super excited to read the story you have written behind the beautiful cover. I just know its phenomenal!

      Like

  2. Very interesting post! Thanks for the info on the dress. I really enjoyed the historic deails and information. I am definitely looking forward to this new book. Laura is such a fantastic author. I loved A Moonbow Night. Another book I am definitely looking forward to is Many Sparrows by Lori Benton releasing in late August 2017. Another superb historical fiction author! If you haven’t read her, definitely take the time to do so. Thanks,

    Mary Koester

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Mary, thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you enjoyed the historical details. It was fun to research! I too am a fan of both Laura Frantz & Lori Benton! I’ve read ALL their books. Looking forward to reading The Lacemaker & Many Sparrows!

      Like

Comments are closed.