I’m am beyond excited to have Sarah Monzon here with us today to chat about her latest book “All Of You” and to share a excerpt from her book (Warning: you may need a fan or your fainting couch!).  Oh, and did I mention Sarah is also giving away a digital copy of her book? You are in for a special treat!

SarahSarah Monzon is a Navy chaplain’s wife and a stay at home mom to the two cutest littles in the world. Playing pretend all day with them isn’t enough, she spends the evenings after their heads hit the pillow to create her own imaginary characters. When she isn’t in the world of make believe, she can be found in the pine forests of western Washington taking care of her family, fostering friendships, and enjoying all the adventures each day brings.

Her debut novel, The Isaac Project, skyrocketed to Amazon bestseller status while her Sophomore book, Finders Keepers, has finaled in contests such as the Inspy Awards and received a 4 star review from Romantic Times.

Web Page // Goodreads // Facebook // Twitter // Pinterest // Amazon

About “All Of You

AOYMaryland, Present Day
Jacqueline Rogers can rebuild anything…except the shambles of her past. A restorer of vintage planes, she’s worked hard to earn the reputation of being one of the guys. The last thing she needs is a former Navy pilot fighting his own inner demons stepping in to defend her from dangers she thought she’d outrun long ago. Some battles must be fought alone.

After a freak accident severs Lieutenant Michael “Finch” Carrington’s dreams, as well as two limbs, he’s left with nothing but a fragile faith and a duty-bound promise to watch out for his friend’s baby sister. A promise she insists is as unnecessary as it is unappreciated. But when she turns the tables and begins to weld together the broken parts of his life, it may be his heart that is in need of protection.

England, 1942
With the world at war yet again, Alice Galloway rejects her father’s traditional expectations and offers her piloting expertise to the Air Transport Auxiliary. She may be a woman in a man’s world, but when she overhears key intelligence, she must find the strength to transcend boundaries and her own fears. Or countless people may die.

Sometimes the past reaches forward to bring hope to the future. (My Review) 

* * * *  Excerpt * * * *

(note:  Heroine: Jacqueline Rogers, nickname “Jack”)

Knuckles rasped against the hangar’s sheet-metal walls, and she looked up from her project. Michael Carrington hobbled in, an Under Armour shirt pulling against his chest and running pants hanging loose from his hips. The top of a white paper bag bunched between his palm and the crutch’s handle, and the stump of his arm pressed two Jamba Juice paper cups against his chest.
Jack dropped the staple gun on top of the pilot’s chair and rushed over, grabbing first the drinks, then the to-go bag. “What are you doing here?”
He grimaced. “Good morning to you too.”
She deposited the food on the workbench and turned toward him, hands on hips. “Good morning, but I thought we agreed I didn’t need a babysitter.”
Michael sat and lifted a bagel from the bag. He reached back in for a plastic knife and a small travel-size container of cream cheese. Using the table as leverage, he peeled back the wrapping and then picked up the knife. Every swipe through the cream cheese sent the small container scurrying across the wooden table.
Jack huffed and grabbed the bagel and cream cheese, yanking the knife from Michael’s grip. She smeared the spread over his plain bagel and then placed it in front of him.
Michael stared at the bagel, then lifted his head slowly, his eyes piercing through her. “Neither do I.”
She looked away, shame washing over her. How thoughtless can you get? Growing up with brothers, she knew one thing at least—men needed to be treated as men. Not as helpless children who couldn’t do for themselves or others. That was the truth of any regular Joe out there. Military men? Especially those highly trained in a competitive field such as aviation? Yeah. She would have insulted him less if she’d spit in his face.
And for what? Her pride? The justification behind the flash of frustration of his continued hovering presence died an agonizing death.
“I’m sorry,” she whispered, looking down at her hands.
“Forgiven.”
A to-go cup with a green straw entered her line of vision.”
“Banana Berry smoothie?”
The chilled drink cooled her palm as she wrapped her hand around the beverage. “Thanks.” She offered him a half smile.
Michael took a bite of bagel, cream cheese sticking to his upper lip. Jack’s smile lifted a little higher. Far be it from her to emasculate him again by handing him a napkin.
“What’s so funny?”
Jack pointed to her own lips, signaling he had something on his.
Michael’s gaze lowered to her mouth, held there.
Her heart skipped a beat as if it had decided to play hopscotch right then and there. She should say something, do something. Divert his attention. Because whatever had flashed through his eyes shook her foundation.
Interest? In her? Maybe she had only imagined the look. It had blinked on and turned off faster than a lightning bug’s glow in the dusk of summer.
His gaze met hers. “Kissing friends?” He winked. “I’m not sure that’s what Geyser had in mind, but who am I to argue?”

* * * * * *

Welcome, Sarah;  It is wonderful to get to chat with you today! That excerpt….SIGH!  We may need to pause for a moment and let the warm fuzzy feelings simmer a bit before moving on to our interview!

Q:   What is your favorite season, and why?
road-1072823_640Sarah:   There are things about each season that I love and I’ve lived in a lot of different regions of the US (South, Midwest, PNW) so my love of the seasons changes as much as they do. When I lived in Florida, I loved winter. It was the only time the heat wasn’t quite so unbearable, although it never truly felt like winter (winter must have snow). When I lived in Michigan, I loved spring. The flowers. The trees budding. The days growing in warmth. Right now, I live in WA and I am loving summer. Clear blue skies with breathtaking views of mountain vistas. If I *had* to choose just one, though, it would probably be fall. When the temperatures drop to a chill, boots and sweaters coming out as leaves change colors on the trees and fall. Toasty, comfortable, beautiful.

Trisha:  Fall is beautiful; we live not far from several large vineyards, I love the smell of the grapes in the air!

 

Q:   What is the best part of your day?
baby-1266117_640Sarah:
   Do you want a “nice” answer or an honest one? LOL. Will you think I’m awful if I say my favorite time is when the kids go to bed? I love my kids, I do! And I love doing things with them all day, but they are five and three and have 20x the amount of energy that I do, they never stop talking, and they bicker like siblings do. Some days I count down the hours to bedtime. That said, I couldn’t imagine my days looking any better, either.

Trisha:  LOL! I completely understand. You are not awful at all! After my son’s bedtime is my favorite also, because it’s quiet and I can just unwind and hear myself think.

 

Q:   What are some of your favorite CF reads from 10 years ago, or further?
book-863418_640Sarah:
   It’s almost easier to say who were some of my favorite authors from 10 years ago. LOL. I love Lori Wick. I refuse to pick just one of her books.

I’m also going to say Siri Mitchell, although she is a current author, I simply adore her early works like “Chateau of Echoes”, “Kissing Adrien”, and “Cubicle Next Door.”

But then there are the Corrie Belle Hollister series and the Stonewyke books by Micheal Phillips and Judith Pella.

The memories! There are some seriously good books out there from decades past!

Trisha: Those are some great books. Brings back good memories!

 

Q:    If we took a peek at your “recently played” music, who would we find?
mobile-616012_640Sarah:
   You’d definitely find Rend Collective, Lauren Daigle, Mercy Me, and other worship leaders.

Trisha:  Those are some excellent selections!

 

Q:    Did the plot-line or the characters come first?
Sarah:    Well, since this is the second book in the Carrington series, I knew the story was going to be about Michael Carrington and because such all of the Carrington family was already established. I also knew I wanted the historical thread to be WWII. Everything developed from there.

Trisha:  I loved Michael’s story! I’m excited to see what you have in store for Adam.

Q:    Which character took you by surprise?
Sarah:    Henry. I originally thought he was going to be a Royal Air Force pilot, but he refused to talk to me a few days, the stubborn man, because he was *not* a pilot, he was a journalist. He surprised me two more times after that too, when he showed me more of his identity, but I don’t want to give any spoilers. Shhh…

Trisha:  Yes! Henry surprised me also. I didn’t see it coming!

 

Q:    What was the latest you stayed up working on this story?
Sarah:    Actually, not that late. I don’t function well at night. Never have. But that’s only exponentiated after motherhood. I’m pretty much brain dead at 8pm.

Trisha:  I usually stay up later than I should… reading!

 

Q:    What is something that didn’t make it into the final copy?
Sarah:    This would be a great time to add a juicy deleted scene, except…I don’t have one. I didn’t take anything out of the manuscript after the rough draft, but I did add a few things. The emails between Jack and Alice were not in the rough draft copy, but early readers offered good insights that helped me craft those to more seamlessly weave the two stories together.

Trisha:  I liked the emails between Jack & Alice, it shared detail quite effectively, and brought together the story nicely.

Thank you Sarah for visiting today. It has been fun hanging out with you and learning the behind-the-scenes details of “All Of You“. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you better and I’m looking forward to our lunch at Baguette de France!

 

GIVEAWAY

Sarah is giving away one (1) digital copy of her latest book “All Of You” (open to US residents only).  The giveaway will be open for 1 week. The winner will be contacted via email and announced on this page at the conclusion of the giveaway.

 

To Enter:

1.)  Leave a comment on this post answering the following question:

Jacquelyn doesn’t like her full name and insists that people call her “Jack”.
Do you have a nickname that you prefer people to call you?

2.)  CLICK HERE to enter the Rafflecopter form and follow the directions.

NOTE: Earn bonus entries daily, by tweeting about the giveaway
using the rafflecopter form.

 

****** The Giveaway has ended *****

Congratulations Tami L.

25 thoughts on “Interview, Excerpt & Giveaway with Sarah Monzon – Author of “All of You”

  1. My name is Paula. They used to call me Polly when I was little. Now only one friend calls me that and she is older than I am! ( I’m 68 ) I don’t mind.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like my full name so I don’t exactly prefer a nickname. At the same time, I don’t mind if someone calls me by a nickname. The list of nicknames I’ve been called vary from Channel, Chanel #5, Chanelly and TT ( the last one is a family nickname that baffles everyone because there is no T in my name at all, but somehow that nickname came to be and stuck).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

