It’s Friday, and time to share the first line. The summer is zipping by. The days are longer, warmer, and filled with the shouts and joys of children playing outside. I hope that you too have been able to get outside and enjoy the summer sun.

Today I’m choosing to share with you a slightly older favorite of mine. Child of the Mist by Kathleen Morgan. This book was published in 2005 as part of the “These Highland Hills” series (which grace my bookshelf at home). The other titles in this series are: “Wings of Morning” and “A Fire Within“.  I hope you enjoy the first line, and let me know if you have read this book also.

 

ChildOfTheMist

March, 1563
Kilchurn Castle, Argyllshire, Scotland

“N-Nial!”
The weak but insistent cry rose above the muffled sobbings, carrying across the large, stone-walled bedchamber to the fireplace.

 

Now it’s your turn!

Grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line & then head over to see what First Lines these friends are sharing today:

 Fiction Aficionado // Reading is my SuperPower // Bibliophile Reviews //
Bookworm Mamma // Robin’s Nest // All the Book Blog Names are Taken //
Faithfully Bookish // Radiant Light // Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen //
With A Joyful Noise // Kathleen Denly // Romances of the Cross // Jane Reads //
Singing Librarian // Moments Dipped In Ink // A Baker’s Perspective //
Lauraine’s Notes //Moments Dipped In Ink // Molly’s Cafinated Reads

 

If you would like to host First Line Fridays on your blog, contact
Carrie at Reading is my SuperPower.

 

 

15 thoughts on “First Line Friday (7/14/17) Child of the Mist (These Highland Hills #1)

  1. Happy Friday!! My first line us from A Matter of Trust by Susan May Warren: “Gage Watson blamed the trouble on the bright, sunny day.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, that cover. I want to visit that castle? Haven’t read this, but it sounds intriguing.
    I just started Cara Putnam’s Beyond Justice. “If he didn’t find that flash drive now, he would have to disappear.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Friday!

    My first line comes from Julian Fellowes’s Belgravia.

    The past, as we have been told so many times, is a foreign country where things are done differently.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mr.—–. I glanced down at my seating chart, heart drumming in my ears. From Playing by Heart by Anne Mateer.

    Like

  5. Happy Friday! I read that book many years ago, I remember liking it but I never read the rest of the series, I should fix that someday.
    My first line is from Anne Love’s “The Gardener’s Daughter” in the Of Rags and Riches romance collection.
    Thump, Thump. She could plant herself in a library world such as this one forever.

    Like

  6. I read this book a long while ago — I don’t remember much, but I do remember really liking it! And I remember not having a clue how to pronounce “Nial” in my head. But I know now! 🙂 I need to reread it and then the rest of the series. *sigh* my TBR grows all the time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Beth, thanks for stopping by! I hope you get to read this book. It has been several years, and I’m thinking I need to pull it out and read it again. Have a great week!

      Like

Comments are closed.