I’m excited to have visiting with us today Roseanna M. White.  The first book I read of Roseanna’s was ‘Ring Of Secrets (the culper ring), and I’ve been hooked ever since! Roseanna is generously giving away an autographed copy of her latest book “A Name Unknown (Shadows over England #1)”.

RoseannaJuly2016-185x300Roseanna M. White pens her novels beneath her Betsy Ross flag, with her Jane Austen action figure watching over her. When not writing fiction, she’s homeschooling her two children, editing and designing, and pretending her house will clean itself. Roseanna is the author of a slew of historical novels and novellas, ranging from biblical fiction to American-set romances to her new British series. Spies and war and mayhem always seem to make their way into her novels…to offset her real life, which is blessedly boring.

Being educated at St. John’s Collete (the Great Books School) taught Roseanna to ask questions, to value conversation, and to never accept the simple answer without exploring it for herself. She and her family make their home in the mountains of West Virginia where she and her husband both grew up. Roseanna is a member of ACFW, a frequent speaker at writers events and also small groups of readers, and an unabashed email addict.

Web page // Goodreads // Facebook // Twitter // Pinterest

I recently finished reading A Name Unknown (Shadows over England #1). If you haven’t yet picked up this book, you should!  (click here to read my review)

ANU

Edwardian Romance and History Gains a Twist of Suspense

Rosemary Gresham has no family beyond the band of former urchins that helped her survive as a girl in the mean streets of London. Grown now, they concentrate on stealing high-value items and have learned how to blend into upper-class society. But when Rosemary must determine whether a certain wealthy gentleman is loyal to Britain or to Germany, she is in for the challenge of a lifetime. How does one steal a family’s history, their very name?

Peter Holstein, given his family’s German blood, writes his popular series of adventure novels under a pen name. With European politics boiling and his own neighbors suspicious of him, Peter debates whether it might be best to change his name for good. When Rosemary shows up at his door pretending to be a historian and offering to help him trace his family history, his question might be answered.

But as the two work together and Rosemary sees his gracious reaction to his neighbors’ scornful attacks, she wonders if her assignment is going down the wrong path. Is it too late to help him prove that he’s more than his name?

ANUgraphic

Welcome, Roseanna, I’m so happy to have you visiting with us today!  Let’s start out with a few getting to know you questions, and then we can talk about your latest book!

 

spring-bird-2295431_640Q: What is your favorite season, and why?

Roseanna:  Spring. I love seeing new life sprouting up and those first warm days—before the humidity and big heat of summer set in.

Trisha:  Spring is also my favorite. After a long cold northern winter, to watch the snow melt into green grass and see the first flowers; it can’t be beat!

 

early-spring-2122419_640Q: What is the best part of your day?

Roseanna:  Early, early morning. I rise at 5:30, and I just love that first hour when it’s just me, my coffee, my Bible, and my writing. =)

Trisha:  Wow, you are an early riser! Of course I can’t really say much, I get up at 6:00.
books-315677_640

Q:  What are some of your favorite CF reads from 10 years ago, or further?

Roseanna:  Some that really stick out to me from that range (a bit newer than 10, but you know) are Trish Perry’s The Guy I’m Not Dating, Julie Lessman’s A Passion Most Pure, and Lisa Samson’s The Passion of Mary Margaret. These are books that have stuck with me for humor, romance, and spirituality all these years. In the older-than-10 realm, gotta go with Francine Rivers—The Mark of the Lion trilogy and Atonement Child, especially.

Trisha:  Those are some really good ones! I knew you had good taste in books!
mobile-616012_640

Q:  If we took a peek at your “recently played” music, who would we find?

Roseanna:   Classical and Big Band selections. =)

Trisha:  Great taste in music too!

 

desk-2158142_640Q: Did the plotline or the characters come first?

Roseanna:  I had a few general background sorts of plot points—that I wanted my hero to be of German heritage, not a good speaker, a fabulous writer. That my heroine needed to be a thief. But I’m very much a character-driven writer, so the real story came together as I fleshed out my characters, for sure!
winter-1102086_640

Q:   Which character took you by surprise?

Roseanna:  One of Rosemary’s little sisters, Olivia. I’d already mentioned her briefly in the beginning, and then I decided that she needed to have a bit of a tragedy befall in order to keep Rosemary on the track she needed to be on. I had no idea at first how important she would end up being to Rosie and the story!

Trisha:  I liked Olivia, she was a fun addition.  I can’t wait to read Rosie’s story!
desire-2422710_640

Q:   What was the latest you stayed up working on this story?

Roseanna:  Oh, goodness. I am not a night owl, LOL. So no later than 10 p.m., I’m sure. My brain is mush after that!

Trisha:  I’m with you, I start to shut down after 10 p.m. But occasionally I have been known to stay up late.
typewriter-801921_1920

Q:  What is something that didn’t make it into the final copy?

Roseanna:  I actually had to add more than I cut—strange for a first draft that was rather long to begin with! So something that wasn’t in the first draft that ended up being . . . two things, actually. The secret society, and the plum at the end (I was just telling my kids this morning about the plum saving the day, LOL.)

Trisha:  I really enjoyed the plum scene.  I’m glad you added it!

 

Thank you so much Roseanna for joining us today. It was fun to chatting with you and getting to know you a little better. Please feel free to come visit again any time!

Friends, Roseanna is offering to giveaway 1 autographed, printed copy of her latest book ‘A Name Unknown’.  The giveaway is only open to those in the continental USA. Please review the policies here. The giveaway will be open for one week. At the close of the givaway period the winner will be contacted via email and announced on this page.

To Enter the Giveaway:

1.)  Leave a blog post comment answering the following question:
“What is your favorite season and why?”

2.) CLICK HERE to enter the Rafflecopter entry form.

*Note:  Receive daily entry points for tweeting about the giveaway, buy using the rafflecopter entry form. 

 

***** The Giveaway Has Ended *****
Winner is: Lynne F.

 

 

 

 

36 thoughts on “Author Interview & Giveaway with Roseanna M. White

  1. Super fun interview! I love all of Rosanna M. White’s books and I’m currently reading A Name Unknown. 🙂

    I love summer. It’s the perfect time to spend time with friends, go to the beach, and do all of the super fun summery things.

    Like

      1. I have. Although, it’s not beach weather right now since I just saw on the news that we’re expecting a tropical storm to hit eventually. Not sure when it’s supposed to happen though lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I will! It took everyone by surprise because it formed overnight, but it sounds like shortly after making landfall, it’ll downgrade to a depression so I’m not too worried at the moment. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I know! I think I’ll be okay where I’m at because I’m not near the water. Usually we’ll just get the outer bands with lots of rain and wind if anything during these storms. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love fall. The colors, crispness in the air, and all things pumpkin make me a very happy girl.
    I haven’t read one of Roseanna’s books yet, but they sound great.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoy winter (the cozy, nesting time watching cardinals and chickadees among the evergreens, hot cocoa) for the first half, but then it drags on & on and the snow gets dirty… So my favorite is spring. Every day brings something new in nature and everything sings as the world re-awakens.

    Thanks for this delightful interview, Trish and Roseanna. always enjoy hearing the story behind the story. I shall watch for Olivia and the plum!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I would have to say I love Fall the best. Love the colors of the leaves ,what I call sweater weather (as opposed to the heat of summer), the apples and pumpkins that come into season,and even the smell that’s in the air. Fall in Ohio can be so pretty! Thanks for the interview with Roseanna,it was fun learning more about her and her writing. Thanks,too for the giveaway!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Spring is my favorite season because I look at it as a sense of renewal. It’s God’s way of showing us life goes on. Flowers bloom,baby birds are born,baby animals are born, the earth greens up again and life goes on.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well, Spring would have to be my favorite (what little of it we have here in Texas. i am NOT loving the 100 degree plus days right now! Thank you for doing the giveaway.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.