The Hawthorne House Series follows a set of aristocratic siblings led by the Duke of Riverton. Set from 1812 – 1815, these stories show how beautiful life, love, and family can be when you let God be a part of them.

Synopsis:

Griffith, Duke of Riverton, likes order, logic, and control, and he naturally applies this rational approach to his search for a bride. He’s certain Miss Frederica St. Claire is the perfect wife for him, but while Frederica is strangely elusive, he can’t seem to stop running into her stunningly beautiful cousin, Miss Isabella Breckenridge.

Isabella should be enjoying her society debut, but with her family in difficult circumstances, her uncle will only help them if she’ll use her beauty to assist him in his political aims. Already uncomfortable with this agreement, the more she comes to know Griffith, the more she wishes to be free of her unfortunate obligation.

Will Griffith and Isabella be able to set aside their pride and face their fears in time to find their own happily-ever-after?

My Thoughts:

I haven’t read all the other books in this series…yet! I read the first book, and even though I have the other’s on my kindle, I just haven’t gotten to reading them. There were a few moments in this book, that I had wished I’d read those others first, but it wasn’t enough to make me feel lost in what was happening in this story.

I felt quite engaged in the story, and found myself talking to the characters as if they could hear me (good thing I was at home when I did that!) It did take me a little bit to feel fully engaged, but that may be because I hadn’t read the other books, and didn’t know the lead character coming into the story.

Griffith is the ideal hero. Strong, confident, thoughtful, patient, a true gentleman. From a young age, he had put some incredible pressures on himself to not only take on the leadership role in his family but also in society. Born into a position of leadership, he took on the mantle and wore it well.

In trying to help her family, and doing what she felt needed to be done, Isabella took on a role that she wasn’t comfortable with, and it ends up making her miserable. She has a good heart and wishes to help, she just goes about it the wrong way.

Both Griffith & Isabella have things to learn, both about themselves and each other. Can they put their trust in God and in each other? Or will pride keep them from discovering true happiness?

Travel back to the Regency period, to parties, and ballrooms bursting with color (and people). I enjoyed reading this engaging story from Kristy Ann Hunter and give it 4-stars.

(I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own.)

Bonus:

For an excerpt and additional bonus materials, please visit Kristi’s web page (click here)

Favorite Quote:

DanceMeme

About the Author:

KristyAnnHunterKristi Ann Hunter graduated from Georgia Tech with a degree in Computer Science but always knew she wanted to write. Kristi is an RWA Golden Heart contest winner, an ACFW Genesis contest winner, and a Georgia Romance Writers Maggie Award for Excellence winner. She lives with her husband and three children in Georgia.

Web Page // Goodreads // Facebook // Twitter // Pinterest //

 

  An Inconvenient Beauty (Hawthorn House #4)

Hawthorn House Series:

  A Lady of Esteem (Hawthorn House #0.5)

  A Noble Masquerade (Hawthorn House #1)

An Elegant Facade (Hawthorn House #2)

  An Uncommon Courtship (Hawthorn House #3)

 

6 thoughts on “An Inconvenient Beauty (Hawthorn House #4) by: Kristi Ann Hunter

Leave a Reply

