Welcome to Friday and a chance to share the first line of a book that you are either reading or a book that you are planning to read soon.

This week I am choosing to feature a book that I finished a little bit ago (watch for my full review coming soon).

The Case of the Clobbered Cad is the first book from Debra E. Marvin that I have had the pleasure to read, and I’ll be going back for more of Debra’s books soon!

TheCaseOfTheClobberedCad

Edinburgh, Scotland 1956

Heather Munro gazed down Victoria street so long, she became another gray-suited statue along the Royal Mile.

 

Now it’s your turn!

Grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line & then head over to see what First Lines these friends are sharing today:

 Fiction Aficionado // Reading is my SuperPower // Bibliophile Reviews //
Bookworm Mamma // Robin’s Nest // All the Book Blog Names are Taken //
Faithfully Bookish // Radiant Light // Encouraging Words from the Tea Queen //
With A Joyful Noise // Kathleen Denly // Romances of the Cross // Jane Reads //
Singing Librarian // Moments Dipped In Ink // A Baker’s Perspective //
Lauraine’s Notes // Moments Dipped In Ink // Molly’s Cafinated Reads //
It’s Story Time with Van Daniker // Iola Goulton // The Christian Fiction Girl //
Book Reviews by Tima //  A Brighter Destiny // Sprinkles and Pink //

Would like to host First Line Fridays on your blog? Contact one of the following:
Rachel at Bookworm Mama // Beth Erin at Faithfully Bookish
Sydney at Singing Librarian // Carrie at Reading is my SuperPower

IMG_1161

23 thoughts on “First Line Friday’s (9/8/17) The Case of the Clobbered Cad

  1. I know someone called Heather Munro … although she’s Australian, not Scottish. I love the idea of an Edinburgh setting. It’s a wonderful city.

    I’m sharing from Magnolia Storms by Janet Ferguson over on my blog today. Next on my to-read pile is Unblemished by Sara Ella, which is a bit different to what I usually read. But it’s got a great first line:

    This is all my fault.
    She’ll lose her soul because of me.

    Okay, so that’s two lines. But you can see why I want to keep reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m looking forward to reading this one in a little while!

    I’m featuring Nicole Deese’s new book, “A New Shade of Summer” on my blog this week, but I’ve FINALLY managed to get around to reading Susan May Warren’s “A Matter of Trust”, and I almost didn’t even want to put it down to do the First Line Friday rounds! But I’ve forced myself to share the first line:

    “Gage Watson blamed the trouble on the bright, sunny day.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Debra’s stories!
    Come to a turable mountain that tried us almost to death to git over it.
    -WILLIAM CALK, HIS JURNAL MARCH YE 25TH 1775 SATTERDAY
    APRIL 1777
    What cannot be cured must be endured. A Moonbow Night by Laura Frantz

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy Friday!!

    My first line is from For Such a Moment by Marie Wells Coutu:

    “Ellen Nielson scanned the large office, seeking a secret corner where she could escape.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like that first line! I’ve seen a lot of people reading this lately. I will have to check it out.

    My quote comes from The Pursuit of Lady Harriet by Rachel Anderson. This is book #3 in series. I highly recommend all three novels!

    “‘How dreadful it would be to live on one’s own permanently,’ Lady Harriet Cavendish said to no one in particular as she walked through a thick grove of pines in Askern, Yorkshire.”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sounds good. I suppose the use of ‘sidewalk’ is acceptable as it’s in the narration for an American character. If a Brit used the term, it would be a little more awkward as we don’t call it that, we call it the ‘Pavement’.

    I’m still technically reading two of the books I included in previous FLF posts and getting through the audiobook of the latest Kristi Ann Hunter. So I included the book I hope to start soon in this week’s post. Happy Saturday now.

    Like

    1. You’re right and I did write it from the perspective of a young American visiting Scotland and trying to keep up with the idioms and vernacular. I actually had requests from some readers/editors to change things that felt confusing for American readers, such as describing how people were parked. In the U.S., we all have to park on the same side we are driving, so all cars pull to the right side of the road to park. I noticed that in Scotland, folks parked in both directions–it felt much more practical actually!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks again, Trisha! I loved seeing the cover and your meme, and I hope readers pick up The Case of the Clobbered Cad and enjoy a mini trip to 1956 Edinburgh! Thank you for sharing the first line!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

