I am excited to have my newest Author friend Angie Dicken visiting with us today!

AngieDickenAngie Dicken is a third generation Greek American, the granddaughter of strong men and women who endured hardship to grow American roots. My Heart Belongs In Castle Gate, Utah is set near the birthplace of her grandfather, a Greek coal miner’s son, and published 100 years after his birth. Angie is a contributor to The Writer’s Alley blog and an ACFW member since 2010. She lives with her husband and four children in the Midwest where she enjoys exploring eclectic new restaurants and chatting with friends over coffee.

Web Page // Facebook // Twitter // Goodreads // Pinterest //

Angie recently released her debut book “The Outlaw’s Second Chance(see my review)

TheOutlawsSecondChanceWhen Cort Stanton and Aubrey Huxley try to claim the same land in the Oklahoma Land Run, Cort offers a deal–one that could help him keep his freedom. After taking the blame for his brother’s crime, Cort needs to lie low, so he gives Aubrey the land for her horse ranch…if she’ll hire him. Now he just has to avoid growing too close to the gorgeous seamstress, who can never know his secret.

Aubrey refuses to depend on any man, even one as handsome and kind as Cort. Yet, as they work together to make her dream a reality, it’s impossible to imagine life on the prairie without him. And though Aubrey knows Cort has secrets that stand between them, she can’t help but wish she could stake a claim on his heart.

Make sure to watch for Angie’s 2nd book “My Heart Belongs in Castle Gate, Utah” Coming out in November!

  My Heart Belongs in Castle Gate, Utah

Let’s start out with a few fun, getting-to-know-you questions and then chat about the latest book.

Trisha:  What is your favorite season, and why?

road-1072823_640Angie: I love fall in the Midwest. There’s just so much to do—like apple orchards, pumpkin patches, and bonfires—and the changing colors and weather are AMAZING!

Trisha:  Yes, Fall is pretty awesome! We have several grape vineyards near us and we can smell the grapes when we walk outside.

 

Trisha:  What is the best part of your day?

tree-1409101_640Angie: When I can drag myself out of bed before the kids, I love the quiet of early morning. But, I am also a night owl, so that makes it more difficult to enjoy waking up so early. 😉

Trisha:  Oh, I hear you! Waking up early isn’t always easy. But the quiet time and the beautiful sunrise make it worth the effort.

 

Trisha:  What are some of your favorite CF reads from 10 years ago, or further?

books-315677_640Angie:  My all time favorite—the one that kept me up, and had me weeping for the characters after it was over—is Liz Curtis Higgs Thorn In My Heart. Just so good. Of course, if you’d like to go back even further…my first exposure to Christian Fiction and favorites from childhood on–The Chronicles of Narnia.

Trisha:  Yes, I love Liz Curtis Higgs books!

 

Trisha:  If we took a peek at your “recently played” music, who would we find?

mobile-616012_640Angie:  Nora Jones. I LOVE her. Her music never disappoints.

Trisha:  I enjoy listening to Nora Jones on rainy days. Her music is relaxing and soothing, like a gentle rain.

 

 

Trisha:  Did the plotline or the characters come first?

desk-2158142_640Angie:  For The Outlaw’s Second Chance, I would say the plotline came first. I wanted to write a Land run story.

Trisha:  The beginning of your book with the Land Run, reminded me a bit of the Land Run at the end of the movie Far and Away.

 

Trisha:  Which character took you by surprise?

guy-2609361_640Angie:  This is a great question. The character that kind of “evolved” was the heroine’s brother, Ben. He was her past and present clashing to threaten her future. But, I love how he seemed so one-sided in my initial writings, and then grew to be more complex.

Trisha:  Ben surprised me in the story also!

 

Trisha:  What was the latest you stayed up working on this story?

coffee-2440074_640Angie:  Ooooh….me? Night owl extraordinaire? I’d have to say…3 or 4? But that might also include brainstorming sessions with my fabulous crit partner, Ashley Clark.

Trisha:  Wow! You are a night owl extraordinaire! My limit is usually 1 am.

 

Trisha:  What is something that didn’t make it into the final copy?

pencil-918449_640Angie:  In the original, I had Aubrey planning on running at night. She was going to be a “sooner” to the fullest definition of the word. But, I like the way it is soooo much better thanks to the suggestions of my editor at Love Inspired Historical!

Trisha:  That was a good change, I like the way it’s written! Thank you, Angie for spending time chatting with us today! It was fun getting to know more about you and your debut book.  I look forward to joining you at the Facebook Launch party tomorrow!

Thanks for having me on your blog, Trisha! I am so excited to see you at my FB launch party on the 12th. For all who want to join in the fun and a chance for winning a giveaway, visit www.facebook.com/dicken.angie and rsvp to the pinned event.

FacebookParty

*** GIVEAWAY ***

Angie is giving away 1 (one) copy of her debut book “The Outlaw’s Second Chance” The winner may choose a paper copy or e-copy (paper copy USA only). Please review the policies here. The giveaway will be open for one week. At the close of the giveaway period the winner will be contacted via email and announced on this page. Return daily during the giveaway period to tweet for bonus entries.

 To Enter the Giveaway: 

1.)  Leave a blog post comment answering the following question:
“Have you heard about the Land Run? Do you think you would have participated?”

2.) CLICK HERE to enter the Rafflecopter entry form.

 

***** GIVEAWAY ENDED *****
Winner is: Tami L.

 

Bonus:

A Month Long Giveaway: Post a Shelfie – Watch your local Walmart, Target & Book sellers for The Outlaw’s Second Chance. Snap a picture and share it!

Shelfie

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Author Interview & Giveaway with Angie Dicken

  1. nope I have not heard of the land run.
    great interview. I used to be a night owl when the kids were growing up. that was tough. Now they are gone and I am more of an afternoon person. LOL I love Liz Curtiss Higgs also.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, I have heard about the land run and it always fascinates me. I’m fairly adventurous, so I think I would have participated if my husband wanted to. (He’s definitely adventurous!)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I enjoyed it. I’m a fan of anything historical It’s been several years since I’ve seen it. I’m often hesitant to suggest movies, because so often they aren’t as clean as I’d like. I’m pretty sure there is language. There may be a bedroom scene. But it has be a LONG time, so I can’t be sure.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I have heard of the land rush. My daughter and family live in Sooner country!
    If we were younger I guess hubby and I would have. We just bought 40 acres out in the boonies!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi all! Thank you, Trisha, for the fabulous interview! There are so many fascinating events in history that we don’t always learn about! I am excited to talk about more of the story tomorrow at my launch party! Love seeing other Liz Curtis Higgs fans here, too! Her writing amazes me!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.