Welcome to First Line Friday’s hosted by Hoarding Books.

Here we are, at the first Friday of October. Wow! Time sure flies when you are having fun. I trust that you have had an enjoyable week. I look forward to hearing from you and finding out what book you have been reading.

I have been reading Lady Jayne Disappears by Joanna Davidson-Politano. The story takes place during the Victorian age, and let me just tell you how amazing this debut book really is! The heroine is an author with a non de plume, and she’s trying to solve a mystery, one that will keep you guessing. You’ll want to read my review to learn more, but trust me, this story fantastic! (my review)

LadyJayne

London, England 1861

It must have been the rain that felt so wrong that day, nothing more. It spit at my face and drenched me.

Wonderful way to set the opening scene, don’t you think? Just for an added teaser, I’ll share with you a meme I created.

LadyJayne1

Now it’s your turn!

Grab the book nearest to you and leave a comment with the first line. To see what First Lines others are sharing this week head over to Hoarding Books.

 

21 thoughts on “First Line Friday’s – Lady Jayne Disappears

  1. I won this book and just received it in the mail. Looks very good! But I’m reading something else right now! Gotta finish it!

    My first line is from The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristi Cambron:
    Sera James bounded through the front door of the Manhattan gallery, so excited that she nearly slipped for running across the hardwood floor in her heels.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sold by the cover and that first line. I want to read this so badly Haha.

    I’m sharing about “Witness Protection” by Carol Kinsey on the blog today, but I’m going to share the first line from the book I’m currently reading here.

    “All of the stories have been written, including mine.”
    Lu. by Beth Troy

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve been seeing this float around the internet lately and it looks super good! Next time I go book shopping, I have a feeling this will end up in the haul. Haha.

        Like

  3. This definitely sounds like an interesting book. I’ll have to take a closer look at it.

    I’ve joined the FLF fun and featured a book on my blog, but I will feature a different one here: After A Fashion by Jen Turano. I haven’t started it yet, but it’s next on my list of books to read. “Miss Peabody, I do so hate to interrupt your work, but an urgent message has just arrived that requires immediate attention.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m sharing the first line from An Inconvenient Beauty on my blog today, but will share the first line from Melanie D. Snitker’s Finding Forever in Romance here. “A blurry mass of fur raced past Brent toward the main building of the Finding Forever Animal Rescue.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am very intrigued by this book. I think I’m going to buy it with my book allowance. 😊📚❤

    I’m currently reading An Inconvenient Beauty by Kristi Ann Hunter, and that’s the book I’m doing on my FLF post today, so here I will post the first line from the novel I’m reading next. The next book on my schedule is Rancher to the Rescue by Barbara Phinney.

    Proud Bend, Colorado, April, 1883

    “Did I read that right?” Clare Walsh peered up from her chair at the Recording Office in Proud Bend, Colorado. She blinked rapidly. “My parents are gone?”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I need to read this!

    I’m sharing the first line from Lynn Austin’s new release ‘Where We Belong’ on my blog this week, so I’m going to share the first line of the book I just finished here: The Case of the Clobbered Cad by Debra E. Marvin.

    “Heather Munro gazed down Victoria Street so long, she became another gray-suited statue along the Royal Mile.”

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

