I’m super thrilled to have Pam Hillman visiting with us today! Please join me in giving her a warm welcome.

PamHillmanCBA Bestselling author PAM HILLMAN was born and raised on a dairy farm in Mississippi and spent her teenage years perched on the seat of a tractor raking hay. In those days, her daddy couldn’t afford two cab tractors with air conditioning and a radio, so Pam drove an Allis Chalmers 110. Even when her daddy asked her if she wanted to bale hay, she told him she didn’t mind raking. Raking hay doesn’t take much thought so Pam spent her time working on her tan and making up stories in her head. Now, that’s the kind of life every girl should dream of.

Web page // Twitter // Goodreads // Facebook //

ThePromiseOfBreezeHillNatchez, MS; 1791
Anxious for his brothers to join him on the rugged frontier along the Mississippi River, Connor O’Shea has no choice but to indenture himself as a carpenter in exchange for their passage from Ireland. But when he’s sold to Isabella Bartholomew of Breeze Hill Plantation, Connor fears he’ll repeat past mistakes and vows not to be tempted by the lovely lady.

The responsibilities of running Breeze Hill have fallen on Isabella’s shoulders after her brother was found dead in the swamps along the Natchez Trace and a suspicious fire devastated their crops, almost destroyed their home, and left her father seriously injured. Even with Connor’s help, Isabella fears she’ll lose her family’s plantation. Despite her growing feelings for the handsome Irish carpenter, she seriously considers accepting her wealthy and influential neighbor’s proposal of marriage.

Soon, though, Connor realizes someone is out to eliminate the Bartholomew family. Can he set aside his own feelings to keep Isabella safe?

 

 

The Promise of Breeze Hill (A Natchez Trace Novel)

Welcome, Pam! It is so very nice to have you here today! I loved reading your latest book The Promise of Breeze Hill & learning some history about the Natchez Trace. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to stop by. Let’s start out with a few getting to know you questions and then we’ll chat about the book.

Q:  What is your favorite season, and why?

road-1072823_640Pam:  As I get older, I’m becoming more and more enamored with fall. Years ago, I wasn’t that fond of fall. The cawing of crows, the business of my seasonal day job at the time seemed to overshadow the beauty and the coolness after a hot and humid Mississippi summer. But now, I look forward to the cool days and even cooler evenings and the beautiful red and gold leaves.

Trisha:  Fall is a beautiful time of year, no doubt, and such a nice break from the intense heat of summer.

 

Q:  What is the best part of your day?

Pam:  Waking up. Seeing the entire day stretching before me and knowing that I can accomplish anything that I set my hand to on that day.

Trisha:  Yes, there is something special about the morning. Watching the sun come up and knowing the day is full of possibilities.

 

Q:  What are some of your favorite CF reads from 10 years ago, or further?

books-315677_640Pam:  Francine Rivers’ Redeeming Love will always be a favorite. It’s the retelling of Gomer and Hosea in a California gold rush setting. Ms. Rivers took a hard situation and made us care deeply about Sarah/Angel.

 

Q:  If we took a peek at your “recently played” music, who would we find?

Pam:  Well, I’m not as much a fan of music as my husband is. When I’m home alone, I mostly work in silence. But most recently, you’d find me listening to The Boler Family, which just so happens to be my husband’s sister and her family. We had a singing at our church, and I recorded it live for Facebook. Amateur recording of course. But when I do listen, it’s mostly Southern Gospel. Karen Peck and New River. And I’m partial to local talent. Jason Davidson, and The Renfroes are awesome and can be found on Youtube.

Trisha:  I too enjoy Southern Gospel. I’ll have to check out Karen Peck & New River.

 

Q:  Did the plotline or the characters come first?

blur-1869579_640Pam:  Would the fact that I knew I was going to write about an indentured servant in The Promise of Breeze Hill be plot or character? I guess it’s a little of both, huh? Then a bit of the character comes to me during research. As the character takes shape, then more of the plot is revealed. So, it’s very much a back and forth scenario. But, generally, one small part of the plot is first. Or maybe one small part of the character is first. Goodness, that’s convoluted, and I’ll have to think about that some more. 🙂

Trisha:  I understand, sometimes both come at the same time.

 

Q:  Which character took you by surprise?

Pam:  My characters always surprise me, but for Promise, I’d say the biggest surprise was Mr. Bartholomew, Isabella’s father. He has a whole fascinating backstory that comes out during the course of the story.

Trisha:  I did enjoy Mr. Bartholomew’s history. He is a fascinating character for sure.

 

Q:  What was the latest you stayed up working on this story?

desk-1148994_640Pam:  Hmmm, three or four o’clock in the morning, maybe. Then get up three hours later and start again. All of that is a hazy fog…

Trisha:  Wow! I think I would have fallen asleep at my computer before I made it to 4 o’clock.

 

Q:  What is something that didn’t make it into the final copy?

Pam:  Nothing of import. But I suppose if it had been important, it would have been in the final copy, huh? 🙂 Seriously, there were some minor half-baked scene ideas that ended up on the cutting-room floor before I turned in the manuscript. There wasn’t anything deleted after that, but more some threads that were pulled out and made stronger during the editing stages.

Trisha:  Thank you Pam for coming by for a visit today! It was fun chatting with you and learning more about Breeze Hill.

Pam:  Thank you so much for having me on your blog, Trisha. What a blessing to get a chance to connect with your and your readers.

 

*** GIVEAWAY ***

Pam Hillman is giving away 1 (one) copy of her book “The Promise of Breeze Hill” The winner may choose a paper copy or e-copy (paper copy USA only). Please review the policies here. The giveaway will be open for one week. At the close of the giveaway period the winner will be contacted via email and announced on this page. Return daily during the giveaway period to tweet for bonus entries.

 To Enter the Giveaway: 

1.)  Leave a blog post comment answering the following question:
“Are you a morning person or a night owl? ”

2.) CLICK HERE to enter the Rafflecopter entry form.

***** GIVEAWAY ENDED *****
Winner:  Tami L.

IMG_1011

25 thoughts on “Author Interview & Giveaway with Pam Hillman

    1. Ah, my kind of life. Early to bed and early… wait, no, that’s not right. Ha! Seriously, I can carry on a conversation until the wee hours so tend to stay up later than I should, but don’t even think about talking to me before 9 am in the mornings! lol

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by, Robbie. 🙂 I hope you get a chance to read The Promise of Breeze Hill. It’s the first in my Natchez Trace series, and I’m excited about sharing all 3 books with readers. Blessings!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thanks, Pam! 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading it! I have a lot of books to read and to review. It will be after the first of the year sometime. When I read it (and the series), I’ll leave a review, too.
        Blessings~

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

