Synopsis:

Kate’s loyalties bind her to the past. Henry’s loyalties compel him to strive for a better future. In a landscape torn between tradition and vision, can two souls find the strength to overcome their preconceptions?

Loyalty has been at the heart of the Dearborne family for as long as Kate can remember, but a war is brewing in their small village, one that has the power to rip families asunder –including her own. As misguided actions are brought to light, she learns how deep her father’s pride and bitterness run, and she begins to wonder if her loyalty is well-placed.

Henry Stockton, heir to the Stockton fortune, returns home from three years at war seeking refuge from his haunting memories. Determined to bury the past, he embraces his grandfather’s goals to modernize his family’s wool mill, regardless of the grumblings from the local weavers. When tragedy strikes shortly after his arrival, Henry must sort truth from suspicion if he is to protect his family’s livelihood and legacy.

Henry has been warned about the Dearborne family. Kate, too, has been advised to stay far away from the Stocktons, but chance meetings continue to bring her to Henry’s side, blurring the jagged lines between loyalty, justice, and truth. Kate ultimately finds herself with the powerful decision that will forever affect her village’s future. As unlikely adversaries, Henry and Kate must come together to find a way to create peace for their families, and their village, and their souls – even if it means risking their hearts in the process.

My Thoughts:

Cultures clash in this enjoyable regency romance. While the story is set in the Regency era in England, there are still nuggets of truth that apply today. Misunderstanding and Prejudice can easily destroy not only families but entire towns. With progress, comes change, and change can be very difficult. Especially when you are a weaver and factories are starting to take over.

For me, the story started out a bit slow, but before I knew it the characters had walked their way into my heart and I found myself not only talking to the characters but also holding my breath and rapidly turning pages to find out what would happen next.

I enjoyed the character growth, with both Kate and Henry. Watching them as they began to understand the role they played in not only their respective family, and in the community, but also in the future. With a gentle reminder of forgiveness and “Everyone makes mistakes in their life. It is how you respond to them and learn from them that matters.” This story is sure to not only entertain but warm your heart.

Fans of Elizabeth Gaskell’s North & South are sure to be delighted with this latest story from Sarah! I give this story 4-stars. I look forward to reading more from Sarah in the future.

(I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own.)

Favorite Quote:

About the Author:

S.Ladd Sarah E. Ladd has always loved the Regency period — the clothes, the music, the literature and the art. A college trip to England and Scotland confirmed her interest in the time period and gave her idea of what life would’ve looked like in era. It wasn’t until 2010 that Ladd began writing seriously. Shortly after, Ladd released the first book in the Whispers on the Moors series. Book one of the series, The Heiress of Winterwood, was the recipient of the 2011 ACFW Genesis Award for historical romance. Ladd also has more than ten years of marketing experience. She holds degrees in public relations and marketing and lives in Indiana with her family and spunky Golden Retriever. You can connect with Sarah E. Ladd at the following locations.

Webpage // Facebook // Twitter // Goodreads

  The Weavers Daughter

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Weaver’s Daughter by Sarah E. Ladd

Comments are closed.