Love and Adventure Are Discovered on the Wilderness Road

Synopsis:

Thomas Bledsoe and Kate Gruener are traveling the Wilderness Road when conflicts between natives and settlers reach a peak that will require each of them to tap into a well of courage.

In 1794, when Kate Gruener’s father is ready to move the family farther west into the wilderness to farm untouched land, Kate is eager to live out her own story of adventure like he did during the War for Independence and to see untamed lands. And she sets her sights on learning more about their scout, Thomas Bledsoe. Thomas’s job is to get settlers safely across the Kentucky Wilderness Road to their destination while keeping an ear open for news of Shawnee unrest. But naïve Kate’s inquisitive nature could put them both in the middle of a rising tide of conflict. Is there more to Thomas’s story than he is willing to tell? Is there an untapped courage in Kate that can thwart a coming disaster?

My Thoughts:

Settle in and get ready to travel the old Cumberland road through hostile Native American territory. You’ll need to pack light because we can’t bring a wagon, only what we can put on our pack horse. Be sure to wear your sturdy shoes, and pack provisions.

Written with such depth and detail you’ll feel like you are right in the thick of the story with the characters. I fell in love with these characters and enjoyed the immersive history and storytelling. Shannon McNear pens a delightful story that kept me eagerly turning the page for more!

I give this tender love story 4.5-stars and would encourage you to snag a copy for yourself. Fans of Michelle Greip, Lori Benton & Laura Frantz are sure to enjoy this wonderful story!

(I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher in exchange for my honest opinion. I am not required to write a positive review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.)

  The Cumberland Bride

Favorite Quote:

TheCumberlandBride

About the Author:

ShannonMcNear  Shannon has been writing one thing or another since third grade and finished her first novel at age fifteen—but waited more than thirty years for her first book contract. In the meantime, she graduated from high school, attended college, met and married her husband, birthed nine children, lost one, taught five to drive, revised that first story innumerable times, and completed six others.

Her first published novella, Defending Truth, in A Pioneer Christmas Collection (Barbour, 2013 & 2015), was a 2014 RITA nominee. She writes regularly for Colonial Quills, is a member of ACFW and RWA, and is represented by Tamela Hancock Murray of the Steve Laube Agency.

Transplanted to North Dakota after more than two decades in Charleston, South Carolina, she loves losing herself in local history. When this homeschooling mom isn’t sewing, researching, or leaking story from her fingertips, she enjoys being outdoors, basking in the beauty of the northern prairies.

Web page // Goodreads // Facebook // Twitter // Pinterest //

 

More in the Daughters of the Mayflower series – Barbour:

The Mayflower Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1620 Atlantic Ocean (February 2018)
The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo – set 1725 New Orleans (April 2018)
The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep – set 1760 during the French and Indian War (June 2018)
The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1774 Philadelphia (August 2018)
The Cumberland Bride by Shannon McNear – set 1794 on the Wilderness Road (October 2018)
The Liberty Bride by MaryLu Tyndall – set 1814 Baltimore (December 2018)
The Alamo Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo – set 1863 The Alamo (February 2019)
The Golden Bride by Kimerley Woodhouse – set 1849 The Gold Rush (April 2019)

Find out more at: www.daughtersofthemayflower.com

Daughters-web-books

8 thoughts on “The Cumberland Bride by Shannon McNear

  1. Thank you so much for the beautiful review! And wow, that quote … I’m not sure I’ve ever been so convicted by my own words!! ❤ God knew I needed to hear that again, this past week. Blessings, Trisha! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Shannon!!! Thank you for stopping by today. I’m so happy to hear that you like the quote graphic. I enjoy making those to share! I especially enjoyed reading this book. Thank you for sharing your heart!!

      Like

Comments are closed.