Aven Norgaard understands courage. Orphaned within an Irish workhouse, then widowed at just nineteen, she voyaged to America where she was wooed and wed by Thor Norgaard, a Deaf man in rural Appalachia. That the Lord saw her along the winding journey and that Aven now carries Thor’s child are blessings beyond measure. Yet while Thor holds her heart, it is his younger brother and rival who haunts her memories. Haakon—whose selfish choices shattered her trust in him.

Having fled the farm after trying to take Aven as his own, Haakon sails on the North Atlantic ice trade where his soul is plagued with regrets that distance cannot heal. Not even the beautiful Norwegian woman he’s pursued can ease the torment. When the winds bear him home after four years away, Haakon finds the family on the brink of tragedy. A decades-old feud with the neighboring farm has wrenched them into the fiercest confrontation on Blackbird Mountain since the Civil War. Haakon’s cunning and strength hold the power to seal many fates, including Thor’s which is already at stake through a grave illness brought to him as the first prick of warfare.

Now Haakon faces the hardest choice of his life. One that shapes a battlefield where pride must be broken enough to be restored, and where a prodigal son may finally know the healing peace of surrender and the boundless gift of forgiveness. And when it comes to the woman he left behind in Norway, he just might discover that while his heart belongs to a daughter of the north, she’s been awaiting him on shores more distant than the land he’s fighting for.

My Thoughts:

Book hangovers are real my friends, and this story has left a lasting impression. I finished reading it (much to my dismay, as I didn’t want it to end) a couple days ago and have been trying to gather my thoughts into a coherent manner in which to do this fantastic story justice with my words. An impossible task!

This story picks up right where we left off and primarily follows Haakon. If summed up in one line, I’d have to say that it is Haakon’s redemption story. From heartache to abundant grace we see a beautiful story unfold. One that reminds us that we all sin and fall short, and are in desperate need of grace.

I enjoyed every moment spent with the dynamic characters of this story. Picking up the book was like stepping through a time portal and entering the world flawless depicted on the pages. If you haven’t yet, you will want to be sure and read Sons of Blackbird Mountain. Both of these stories will completely weave themselves around your heart!

(I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own.)

About the Author:

Joanne-BischofA Christy and Carol Award-winning author, Joanne Bischof writes deeply layered fiction that tugs at the reader’s heartstrings. She was honored to receive the SDCWG Novel of the Year Award in 2014 and in 2015 was named Author of the Year by the Mount Hermon Writer’s conference. Her 2014 novella This Quiet Sky broke precedent as the first self-released title to final for the Christy Awards. To Get to You, her 2015 release, was the second. Joanne’s 2016 novel, The Lady and the Lionheart, received an extraordinary 5 Star TOP PICK! from Romantic Times Book Reviews among other critical acclaim. She lives in the mountains of Southern California with her three children and is currently working on a new 2-book series for Thomas Nelson/HarperCollins Christian (releasing 2018).

Webpage // Goodreads // Facebook // Twitter // Pinterest //

Daughters of Northern Shores (Blackbird Mountain #2)

  Sons of Blackbird Mountain (Blackbird Mountain #1)


3 thoughts on “Daughters of Northern Shores (Blackbird Mountain #2) by Joanne Bischof

Comments are closed.