In Regency England an advantageous match could set up a lady for life. Julia knows Matthew Blake, copper mine owner and very eligible bachelor, is the gentleman she should set her eyes upon. But why can’t she steal her gaze away from his younger brother, Isaac?

Synopsis:

Cornwall, England, 1818

Julia Twethewey needs a diversion to mend her broken heart, so when her cousin invites her to Lanwyn Manor, Julia eagerly accepts. The manor is located at the heart of Cornwall’s mining industry, and as a guest Julia is swept into its intricate world. It’s not long, though, before she realizes something dark lurks within the home’s ancient halls.

As a respected mine owner’s younger son, Isaac Blake is determined to keep his late father’s legacy alive through the family business, despite his brother’s careless attitude. In order to save their livelihood—and that of the people around them—the brothers approach the master of Lanwyn Manor with plans to bolster the floundering local industry. Isaac can’t deny his attraction to the man’s charming niece, but his brother has made clear his intentions to court the lovely visitor. And Isaac knows his place.

When tragedy strikes, mysteries arise, and valuables go missing, Julia and Isaac find they are pulled together in a swirl of strange circumstances, but despite their best efforts to bow to social expectations, their hearts aren’t so keen to surrender.

Sweet Regency Romance
Full-length novel, approximately 90,000 words
Second in the Cornwall series, but can be read alone

Perfect for fans of Poldark, Sarah Ladd’s latest Regency romance, The Thief of Lanwyn Manor, explores Cornwall, England, and the secrets within one of its historic manor houses.

 The Thief of Lanwyn Manor (Cornwall #2)

My Thoughts:

What a fantastic story filled with unexpected twists and turns. I was kept on the razor edge, turning pages expectantly to find out what would happen next and kept guessing until the end! I’ve read and enjoyed many of Sarah E. Ladd’s books, but this has got to be my favorite.  If you enjoy regency period stories with mystery and intrigue, then do yourself a favor and snag a copy of this book to enjoy!

While this is the second story in the Cornwall series, it easily stands alone. There are a few refrences to characters we previously met in book one. But you could easily jump right in with book two if you so wish. Fans of Poldark and Jane Austen will be blissfully enamored with this new story! A rumored treasure, shadowy figures, whispers in the walls. Secrets abound and surprises await!

(I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.)

About the Author:

S.Ladd   Sarah E. Ladd has always loved the Regency period — the clothes, the music, the literature and the art. A college trip to England and Scotland confirmed her interest in the time period and gave her idea of what life would’ve looked like in era. It wasn’t until 2010 that Ladd began writing seriously. Shortly after, Ladd released the first book in the Whispers on the Moors series. Book one of the series, The Heiress of Winterwood, was the recipient of the 2011 ACFW Genesis Award for historical romance. Ladd also has more than ten years of marketing experience. She holds degrees in public relations and marketing and lives in Indiana with her family and spunky Golden Retriever. You can connect with Sarah E. Ladd at the following locations.

Webpage // Facebook // Twitter // Goodreads

Click on the title below to snag your copy!

 The Thief of Lanwyn Manor (Cornwall #2)

  The Governess of Penwythe Hall (Cornwall #1)

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Thief of Lanwyn Manor (Cornwall #2) by Sarah E. Ladd

Comments are closed.